Pet Restaurant Farms

When the Mobius strip sculpture came out, I just had to buy it. The same goes for the ceremonial drink set, the chandelier floor lamp, and the floral archway.  I had to choose and buy all of these while milking cows (that thankfully don’t poo), gathering purple cabbages, and collecting tokens for a pig.  

This is me, as a restaurateur/farmer.  

One of the biggest attractions of Facebook is its smorgasbord of games. From Vampire wars to Fishville, these games cater to different interests and hobbies.  

One of my favorite pastimes: clicking the trash

  In the beginning of my Facebook experience, I was playing around nine games. I played Sorority Life which catered to my girly interests; Farmville, Farmtown, and Barnyard Buddy for my unexplainable passion for planting crops; Mafia Wars for boy watching my fondness for the Godfather, and more.  

A little more than a year later, I’m down to two (and occasionally three) games. When I look at all the bookmarks that I have accumulated, I can’t help but wonder why I stayed with the games that I have today, and why I left the others.    

Why have I let my other farms rot? Why did I leave my sororities? How could I leave my pets dirty and attention-deprived?  

Watching the loading bar: Not fun!  

I was never fond of waiting, and I am probably not the only one.  In this day and age, speed is highly valued. This does not exclude games. What turned me off with some of the games was the slow loading time. Even 5 minutes is too long a wait. The internet is characterized by being on the go, and being slow is unacceptable.   

Graphics makes the gaming world go round  

One of the reasons why I dropped Farmtown in favor of Farmville was the graphics, design, and animation of the whole game. Farmtown was just too bland and too old-looking compared to Farmville. The animals of the latter moved naturally, providing 3D movements. Farmtown animals moved sideways, which incidentally, reminded me of how crabs moved. I’m really no game expert, but I do know that the graphic interface of every game is important in attracting players. Why else would graphics be mentioned in every game review?  

The difference is in the pigs.

Too Friend-ly 

I want this pig!

Facebook games stay true to their social media function. You just cannot survive in these games without friends. You interact with them, give them gifts, and ask them to aid you in building your coliseum. However; there are times when your success depends too much on your friends. Some games require a certain number of friends (in that particular game) to get to the next level. This actually encourages people to add people in facebook who are not really their friends. They just add them for the sake of the game. This, for me, is not a very healthy practice.

Challenging but hassle-free

Many games are stagnant. From the moment you play them, they never change. Your game play becomes routine, thus, it becomes boring. There is no challenge. These are the games that get abandoned quickly. Being part of a social networking site, these games must adhere to the same rules as its host. Constant change and innovation are the things that attract people to play and keep playing.

I can be a fireman.

Take Restaurant City as an example; every week, it is a guarantee that they will introduce new themes, new decorations, etc. They also play around with the mechanics of the game, adding and removing stuff here and there. What’s good about RC’s approach is that they take the opinions of their players in consideration. They continuously ask what themes and decorations they would want to feature next and the comments of their players are always monitored. In fact, there was a time when one particular feature was disliked by so many players that RC quickly modified it.

Now, while players do want to be challenged, they really do not want playing games to be much of a burden. I know I do. Playing games should be fun, and not something that would seem like a chore. Games that require its players too much effort (e.g. too much clicking, the need to log in every day, etc.) are quickly discarded.

To each his own, I suppose. The games that I did not continue may just be due to my own preferences. I mean, there are still a lot others that play them. It may just be me, I might just be fussier than most. However, I have heard others voice the same complaints. Still, this is really not to put anyone off in playing games.

 I guess you really just have to find the right game for you. It’s out there somewhere, just waiting to be clicked.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pet Restaurant Farms

  1. mavcastillo says:

    Aww. I guess I’ve found the perfect game for me. The only game I play when I log in to facebook 😛 And yes, your unexplainable enthusiasm for planting and farming never cease to amaze me!
    Nice topic Eya. I believe that one of the major factors why Friendster lost to Facebook is the existence of these games. Facebook introduced us to a whole new world of interaction while giving us a glittering offer to be anyone we want to be. I never thought I could be a successful restaurateur but Facebook introduced me to Restaurant City!And the rest is history.LOL. This post makes me wonder if the near future can create a new social media where people can do real things(i.e. errands, shopping, work) together without having to leave the glaring faces of their computers. Imagine a virtual shopping mall or a virtual classroom where every little action you do is enacted by a virtual alter ego. I guess that would be fun… and kinda scary.

  2. kim :) says:

    Recreational activities have always brought people closer together. It doesn’t surprise me that cyber recreational activities have the same effect. I just wonder if these ‘relationships’ are only superficial, or whether they can become deeper and more meaningful.

  3. Selah says:

    Fascinating thoughts, Eya! You’ve covered some great points.

    Facebook has become an integral part of many people’s lives. Sometimes, they can’t even live a proper life without it! Talk about being one-dimensional.

    The games have become such an interesting phenomenon. Whether we like it or not, it has changed the way social intereaction is supposed to happen.

    What does this mean for people who don’t have Facebook?

  4. kitsatwork says:

    The reason I joined Facebook is Fashion Wars. A friend of mine (hello Ellis) convinced me that it was a really fun game. Before I knew it, I was already buying properties in Miami, fighting Fashion Showdowns, and even Bitchslap-ping players from other countries. I started to play Mob Wars, Vampire Wars, Mafia Wars, prolly every single war there is on Facebook! But after a few weeks, I got bored and then I stopped playing them (all of them, in exception of Restaurant City and Happy Island which I play very rarely nowadays). Every game seemed so dull and repetitive. I guess the challenge in here is for the game developers to constantly update the game, to always offer something fresh to its players, to tweak the game every so often so that the players will have something to look forward to. I believe that this will create stronger loyalty (or addiction) among us players. O:)

  5. slightlydillydallying says:

    I am a self-confessed former PetVille addict. This particular application is continuously updated by introducing new themes. If we come to think of it, behind the weekly enhanced interface, it is still the same old PetVille after all. More than appealing to players through visual stimulation (i.e. graphics and images), creators of Facebook applications should take into consideration integrating more complex features that will keep users interested.

  6. KC says:

    Hey, Eya! This line got me laughing: “Farmtown animals moved sideways, which incidentally, reminded me of how crabs moved.” :)) I imagined how you say it. But anyway…

    This topic is very nice and relevant for us, Restaurant City ingredients exchange partner. 😉 I have been a fan of a lot of games (Pet Society, Farmtown, Farmville, Restaurant City…) but now I am not maintaining anything. I guess it’s because of my short attention span which, I think, all people of my generation has. 😉 If Facebook could do just what made DOTA and other RPGs successful (I think it’s the fact that you’ll be able to play with your peers in real time–and fast, too) then they’ll be able to maintain their audience.

Leave a Reply

